How To Be Gracious

So true…

Shiny, Happy, Healthy.

One of my colleagues at work this week tried to buy me a coffee.

I refused.

“No, no!” I waved away her money. “It’s fine!”
“Let me,” she said, pressing it into my hand. “I’d like to say thank you.”

Is this you?

Her graciousness made me stop and consider how I am about receiving.

I have an idea about the balance of things – I want to be a motivator in the world, a brightener, an energy source. I love to make a big deal out of people’s birthdays and celebrations. Give thoughtful gifts. Remember details. I want things to be lovely for people, especially the people I love, and I go to great lengths to make it so.

 I admit, it gives me the warm fuzzies to give the perfect gift or make a special meal or remember an important date.
But insidiously, underneath that, I think there’s a stubborn independence…

View original post 212 more words

Leave a Reply

